Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply
Accepted Solution

Secondary account in Skype 4.0

How to open two Skype clients on Linux?

spitfire2312
Novel Adventurer

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

I have the same issue. Found this workaround:

 

1: Stop all running skype instances. 

2: Copy the directory where skype stores its options: [in home directory] cp -a .Skype .Skype2

3: Start one instance as usual

4: Start the second with skype --dbpath=~./.Skype2

 

Hope that helps...

View solution in original post
Viser
Novel Adventurer

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

0 Kudos

Thanks!
It works.

View solution in original post
0 Kudos
serres
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 1 of 18 (7,986 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Same issue
skype --secondary
got: skype: unrecognized option '--secondary'
skype /secondary
got: opened previously loaded skype.
0 Kudos
Viser
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 2 of 18 (7,971 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

I have the same issue. Found this workaround:

 

1: Stop all running skype instances. 

2: Copy the directory where skype stores its options: [in home directory] cp -a .Skype .Skype2

3: Start one instance as usual

4: Start the second with skype --dbpath=~./.Skype2

 

Hope that helps...

spitfire2312
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 4
Posts: 3
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 3 of 18 (7,954 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Thanks!
It works.
0 Kudos
Viser
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 4 of 18 (7,947 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Thanks
0 Kudos
serres
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 5 of 18 (7,933 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Hi spitfire2312,

Many thanks for figuring this out and posting it, I have been able to update my start up shell scripts. I now have my multiple accounts back up and running. Kudos much deserved.
0 Kudos
George_the_bear
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 6 of 18 (7,883 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

great! thanks! I have three accounts which I used to use simultaneously, I can start two using this method, but not the third... any ideas?
0 Kudos
warfie3667
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 21-06-2012
Message 7 of 18 (7,565 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Hey warfie3667 I don't see any reason why it should't work. Just create a third option directory by cp -a .Skype .Skype3 and start your third instance with skype --dbpath=~/.Skype3 I would be surprised if it doesn't work. Could you try and report your result?
Posted from Apple iPad
0 Kudos
spitfire2312
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 4
Posts: 3
Registered: 15-06-2012
Message 8 of 18 (7,560 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

Hi spitfire2312,

I tried exactly as you suggested and that's what didn't work...

What *DID* work was when I started all three accounts in one command with & between each one.

 

eg: skype --dbpath=~/.Skype1 & skype --dbpath=~/.Skype2 & skype --dbpath=~/.Skype3

 

Hope this helps someone else.

0 Kudos
warfie3667
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 2
Registered: 21-06-2012
Message 9 of 18 (7,556 Views)

Re: Secondary account in Skype 4.0

You can use the same solution as for MacOS. For linux it will be:

 

sudo su -c "nohup skype && exit" (type this in terminal)

 

 

The advantage is that when you close terminal window the skype still working :wink:

0 Kudos
russellmd
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 0
Posts: 1
Registered: 21-06-2012
Message 10 of 18 (7,553 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling