Re: Skype can't connect - most likely router probl...

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Accepted Solution

Skype can't connect - most likely router problem, no clue what else to do...

Lately I can't connect to Skype at home. I've tried a lot of different solutions but none of them work.

 

The problem started a few months ago when I just couldn't sign into Skype (can't connect). At that time I had no change in any network settings on my computer nor my router. Interestingly enough, I could connect to Skype on Ubuntu (I have dualboot). Though even Ubuntu eventually failed to connect back then (just can't sign in) - still no changes in my network. I couldn't be bothered at the time with the problem so I just didn't use Skype.

However after some time (some weeks or a month or two), when I tried to connect to Skype again, it worked (on Win 7 as well as Ubuntu). Again, no changes to my network have been done in the mean time (Skype might of been updated, but I doubt it was on both platforms at the same time).

 

So Skype worked for a while until about a month ago, when the problem reoccurred. This time I said I'm going to get to the bottom of this so here is the situation:

  • I can connect to Skype at work no problem (on my desktop as well as my Android phone)
  • I can't connect to Skype at home (just won't sign in) on my desktop nor my phone

I have tried:

  • Reinstalling Skype with cleaning everything that Skype might have left behind
  • Installing an (a bit) older version 6.9 (because even the latest 6.11 didn't work). Though these two attempts I've come to see are in vain once I figured out that I can't connect to Skype on my phone as well.
  • Resetted my router a couple of times.
  • Reset my router settings to default.
  • Opened/forwarded Skype ports to my (local) IP. I even enabled DMZ to redirected all traffic to my desktop computer (although I'm not 100% sure that that worked as I imagine it should work).
  • Tried some proxy settings in Skype (Connection options) I found on your forum.

None of the above worked in any way...

 

My router is a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND with (I think the latest) firmware version 3.13.13 Build 130428 Rel.58290n (hardware is v1).

 

TLDR:

I can't sign in to Skype at home. It works when I'm at work. I can connect to Skype on my phone if I'm at work (over WiFi) or if I'm on 3G, but not if I'm on my home WiFi. That said, no software firewall can be the problem here, but my router. However I have no more ideas as to what else I can try. This forum is my last hope for finding a solution.

Please help.

techfreak
Community Ambassador

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

There is a possibility either you or one of your neighbors using the same ISP may be running a TOR exit node/relay or performing some other type of anonymizer or shady activity temporarily banning your WAN IP address.  If that is the case, you will not be able to connect.  If  you are running something like an exit node/relay I would recommend against it.

 

I would suggest using your router to clone/change your current MAC address.  Reboot your router and modem to see if it will pull a different WAN IP.  Once you have a different WAN IP, try to reconnect to Skype again.

 

http://www.tp-link.com/en/article/?id=68

View solution in original post
corcc
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 4
Registered: 03-01-2014
Message 1 of 16 (4,212 Views)

Re: Skype can't connect - most likely router problem, no clue what else to do...

[ Edited ]

There is a possibility either you or one of your neighbors using the same ISP may be running a TOR exit node/relay or performing some other type of anonymizer or shady activity temporarily banning your WAN IP address.  If that is the case, you will not be able to connect.  If  you are running something like an exit node/relay I would recommend against it.

 

I would suggest using your router to clone/change your current MAC address.  Reboot your router and modem to see if it will pull a different WAN IP.  Once you have a different WAN IP, try to reconnect to Skype again.

 

http://www.tp-link.com/en/article/?id=68

techfreak
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1491
Posts: 5482
Registered: 30-11-2012
Message 2 of 16 (4,199 Views)

Re: Skype can't connect - most likely router problem, no clue what else to do...

I had NO idea Tor could be related to Skype. And even now that I know that (that I know what to google for), I could only find a few post/hints on the Internet saying that could be a problem.

Yes, I am running a Tor exit relay and so what you suggested probably is the issue (my IP has been banned by Skype).

 

Now I don't really need to run Tor, but I really like to help other people that DO need Tor (in oppressive regimes for instance), by running it. So my next question is, can I set Tor in such a way that my IP won't be banned by Skype? In Tor under "Exit policies" I had "Misc Other Services" enabled and I guess that would enable Skype over Tor and that could get you banned, correct? So can I just disable that setting or must I run a non-exit relay only or not even that?

 

Anyway thank you for your response. At least now I know what the real problem is.

 

BTW, do you have any idea how long does it take to be removed from this banned IP list? I could try changing my router's MAC address but I'm not sure I'll be able to connect to my ISP then.

corcc
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 4
Registered: 03-01-2014
Message 3 of 16 (4,181 Views)

Re: Skype can't connect - most likely router problem, no clue what else to do...

[ Edited ]

I do not know the makeup of Skype's internal security policies when it comes to this as they are not too open about this. Most companies are not. These are the only reasons I believe a block would occur based off any company's security policy.

1. A proactive measure - A blacklist of IPs is constantly obtained/updated to include anonymizer services that might harm the network.

2. An active/counteractive measure -

I. Someone uses an anonymizer to SPAM people on the Skype network:
a. Users complain using the abuse option. Users get the IP Auto-banned.
b. The company (Skype) receives the complaints or notices a trend and Manual/Auto bans the IP.

II. Too many people (connections) sign on with the same IP (due to an exit relay/proxy). Due to this being very suspicious, (maybe even DDos-like behavior) the IP is Auto-banned.

I tend to lean more towards the counteractive measure since I don't believe many proactive measures are needed to limit abuse. There is always at least one rotten apple that engages in illegal activity using anonymizers, proxies, etc. that ruin it for everybody. In reality I believe it is a combination/balance of the two. Not to be prejudice against anonymizers, just blacklists to protect the network from known attacks. For whatever reason once the threshold is met, the IP is banned.  If I had to guess how long it would be in intervals of 30 days (30, 60, 90, 120, etc.). The whole Internet is not going to banned so the security policies in effect can't be too strict. It's goal is probably just to limit the majority of bad behavior that causes problems for their customers.

Skype is not the only service that reacts this way. Even ISPs will receive notices and in turn will send notices to their customer that since illegal activity (RIAA notices, etc.) is occurring due to a Tor exit relay or some other anonymizer, the ISP will terminate services with that customer if they don't cease (due to breach of contract).

I don't know whether you can limit an exit relay so it can't be used to access Skype. It may be a lost cause. If I made the choice to run a similar service it would be with a whitelist of people I knew who wouldn't use it to perform illegal activity, just remain anonymous when online.

You shouldn't have any issues running a non exit relay since in doing so your IP is not being broadcast all over the Internet like a calling card which an exit relay does. Changing your modem's MAC address is something you need to call your ISP for. However changing your router's MAC address generally does not require that. All that is required is a reboot of the modem, router, and possibly computer if you run into issues. You will probably continue to run into the same problem as long as you attempt to run an exit relay.

Be aware that for every IP that get's banned on your ISP is another IP a person could get issued for 24 hours to a week + after it gets released. Some people then visit this community and complain how they can't connect when it worked not too long ago and how Skype "sucks". So sometimes things like this create a ripple effect for other customers.

techfreak
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1491
Posts: 5482
Registered: 30-11-2012
Message 4 of 16 (4,167 Views)

Re: Skype can't connect - most likely router problem, no clue what else to do...

Sorry for the very late reply, but I've been very busy lately and couldn't find the time to reply.

 

My Skype is now working for about a week or two after I found out, that beeing an exit relay for Tor might ban your IP on Skype servers. When I found that out, I set my Tor configuration to be a non-exit relay and some weeks after that I could connect to Skype again.

 

I migth try playing around with Tor configuration to set it to an exit relay but disable the "Misc other services" and see if that works with Skype as well, but at least I'll know what I'm dealing with if I can't connect to Skype then.

 

Thank you for your reply and effort and have a nice life :wink:

corcc
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 1
Posts: 4
Registered: 03-01-2014
Message 5 of 16 (3,989 Views)

Re: Skype can't connect - most likely router problem, no clue what else to do...


corcc wrote:

Lately I can't connect to Skype at home. I've tried a lot of different solutions but none of them work.

 

The problem started a few months ago when I just couldn't sign into Skype (can't connect). At that time I had no change in any network settings on my computer nor my router. Interestingly enough, I could connect to Skype on Ubuntu (I have dualboot). Though even Ubuntu eventually failed to connect back then (just can't sign in) - still no changes in my network. I couldn't be bothered at the time with the problem so I just didn't use Skype.

However after some time (some weeks or a month or two), when I tried to connect to Skype again, it worked (on Win 7 as well as Ubuntu). Again, no changes to my network have been done in the mean time (Skype might of been updated, but I doubt it was on both platforms at the same time).

 

So Skype worked for a while until about a month ago, when the problem reoccurred. This time I said I'm going to get to the bottom of this so here is the situation:

  • I can connect to Skype at work no problem (on my desktop as well as my Android phone)
  • I can't connect to Skype at home (just won't sign in) on my desktop nor my phone

I have tried:

  • Reinstalling Skype with cleaning everything that Skype might have left behind
  • Installing an (a bit) older version 6.9 (because even the latest 6.11 didn't work). Though these two attempts I've come to see are in vain once I figured out that I can't connect to Skype on my phone as well.
  • Resetted my router a couple of times.
  • Reset my router settings to default.
  • Opened/forwarded Skype ports to my (local) IP. I even enabled DMZ to redirected all traffic to my desktop computer (although I'm not 100% sure that that worked as I imagine it should work).
  • Tried some proxy settings in Skype (Connection options) I found on your forum.

None of the above worked in any way...

 

My router is a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND with (I think the latest) firmware version 3.13.13 Build 130428 Rel.58290n (hardware is v1).

 

TLDR:

I can't sign in to Skype at home. It works when I'm at work. I can connect to Skype on my phone if I'm at work (over WiFi) or if I'm on 3G, but not if I'm on my home WiFi. That said, no software firewall can be the problem here, but my router. However I have no more ideas as to what else I can try. This forum is my last hope for finding a solution.

Please help.


 

htmanagement.
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 4
Registered: 30-04-2013
Message 6 of 16 (3,666 Views)

Skype can't connect to server.

Hi everyone! Three weeks I can not login on Skype from home. Houses three computers with Windows XP and Windows 7 (32-bit). No one is not included on the server (as if you are connecting, but infinitely). There are no errors. Tried 4.x , 5.x , 6.x , Portable version of Skype. Used tips on resetting IE by default, bore profile in Documents and settings, reinstalling the operating system. Come to work - it work, not at home. Question to the ISP gave nothing : We are not blocking any ports look at myself. Replaced the default port on Skype to another since 1024, and the above fails. Check box use altrenative ports 80 and 443 port is enabled. Houses distributed online through a server FreeBSD, substituted a router D-Link, but the problem is not solved. Thought hacked password .... Went through the website does Skype, changed the password, did not help. Do not even know where to dig and ... Introduced specifically the incorrect password, the same story - in process to connect to the server, and no errors. Who faced?

V.Gor
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 10
Registered: 04-02-2014
Message 7 of 16 (3,412 Views)

Re: Skype can't connect - most likely router problem, no clue what else to do...

Thanks for Qualitative reply, this is to be true origin.
How long can be banned my host (MAC address) in this case?

V.Gor
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 10
Registered: 04-02-2014
Message 8 of 16 (3,386 Views)

Re: Skype can't connect - most likely router problem, no clue what else to do...

If you can connect everywhere else except home, then it is highly probable that the IP (direct/proxy) you use to connect to with Skype is for whatever reason banned.  Exactly how long would be unknown.  While a MAC address may be involved, it is less likely to be used as a determining security factor in this type of infrastructure.  In the end the solution is the same.  Dynamically assigned IPs are generally derived from an algorythim using your MAC address.  If you change/clone the MAC address on your router, a new IP will generally get issued to you by your ISP.

techfreak
Community Ambassador
Community Ambassador icon
Kudos: 1491
Posts: 5482
Registered: 30-11-2012
Message 9 of 16 (3,376 Views)

Re: Skype can't connect - most likely router problem, no clue what else to do...

You right techfreak, my ISP provides IP of DHCP bound to the MAC address. A simple way to solve the problem, buy a new network card and record the new MAC address in equipment ISP. But why me two network card? Maybe a month will be enough to remove the ban. Question who put this ban?

And thanks for answer.

V.Gor
Casual Adventurer
Kudos: 0
Posts: 10
Registered: 04-02-2014
Message 10 of 16 (3,368 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling