Skype says I must enter a country code

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Reply
Accepted Solution

Skype says I must enter a country code

I am in the United States.  I have an Android smart phone, and I downloaded the mobile version of Skype into it.  I bought some Skype credit, and I'm trying to make my first Skype call.  It is to another United States landline.  I entered 1 and the number, but when i hit "Call"  I get a message saying "Wrong number. Please include country code (e.g. +44 1234567)"  The U.S. flag icon is clearly shown next to the number, so the phone and I both know this is to a U.S. number.  I've tried to just select the U.S. icon and enter the number, put a space between the 1 and the number, put a + between the 1 and the number, but all to no avail.  It still gives me the error message, and it won't dial the number.

 

Anybody got any ideas?

mstina17
Novel Tourist

Accepted Solution

Enter +011 phone number. It worked for me.
View solution in original post
rlandleysr
Casual Tourist
Kudos: 71
Posts: 1
Registered: 14-07-2011
Message 1 of 58 (2,418,322 Views)

Re: Skype says I must enter a country code

I too am having this issue when dialing my MS Outlook contacts. Please add a function to set it to a default Country (USA?) so I don't have to do add this everytime!! Please!
nickb6789
Routine Adventurer
Kudos: 168
Posts: 16
Registered: 18-07-2011
Message 2 of 58 (2,418,151 Views)

Re: Skype says I must enter a country code

I have the EXACT same problem. If this isn't addressed Skype will not get my business.

 

I can dial from my PC to a U.S. landline but cannot use Skype mobil eon my Samsung Intercept on Virgin Mobile network to dial out to the very same number. I get the above error post at the beginning of this tread.

Alchemysto
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 16
Posts: 1
Registered: 28-07-2011
Message 3 of 58 (2,418,063 Views)

Re: Skype says I must enter a country code

I am having the same problem with +1 877 numbers... this is toll free USA?! Why do we get this message?  I have the USA flag also.

snowboarder
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 8
Posts: 1
Registered: 08-08-2011
Message 4 of 58 (2,417,895 Views)

Re: Skype says I must enter a country code

This problem should be escelated as its made me stop using skype and use Google voice instead.  Having to select 1 in the country code when dialing from Outlook is a BIG problem. Maybe Skype can add an option that when in doubt select USA as the default country code for example or whichever you wish.

michael24
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 11
Posts: 2
Registered: 27-08-2011
Message 5 of 58 (2,417,592 Views)

Re: Skype says I must enter a country code

Put +1 in front of your phone #. 

Trish0971
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 100
Posts: 1
Registered: 30-08-2011
Message 6 of 58 (2,417,444 Views)

Re: Skype says I must enter a country code

Has anyone found an answer ofr this problem? My contacts come from Outlook. This is a real pain to have to enter country code for every call.

jlauassociates
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 17
Posts: 1
Registered: 26-09-2011
Message 7 of 58 (2,415,051 Views)

Re: Skype says I must enter a country code

Hey, all you guys have to do is submit your number as the example shows you with the country code, US code is #1 so for example- if your number is (305)305-3005 the example they give is (e.g +44 1234567) you would then type in +1 3053005 . Keep in mind the + sign and space between the second digits and last four numbers is important! ..goodluck :happy:
russiaviper
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 105
Posts: 1
Registered: 05-10-2011
Message 8 of 58 (2,412,393 Views)

Re: Skype says I must enter a country code

the USA code is 001
pboo771
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 32
Posts: 2
Registered: 12-10-2011
Message 9 of 58 (2,409,969 Views)

Re: Skype says I must enter a country code

I have just applied it to my android phone and it worked
pboo771
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 32
Posts: 2
Registered: 12-10-2011
Message 10 of 58 (2,409,968 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling