toshiba thrive

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving

toshiba thrive

I have tryed to down load Skype onto my Toshiba thrive. I can place calls but am not able to place video calls. I am in the military and the hole reason for getting the thrive was for the reason of contacting my family where ever I find myself. Is this a lost effort and money on my part? And if so why?

Posted from Generic Android
mikechandler211
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 7
Message 1 of 47 (17,425 Views)

Re: toshiba thrive

Thanks for your service. I am a Veteran U.S. Air Force 1974-1979

Please follow these Steps:

1. Only do Step 1 if you are on WIN7:

Stop Skype.

Be sure that Compatibility Mode is not enabled (right-click on Skype shortcut icon/launcher and select Properties >> Compatibility) - for Windows 7 users only.

Try to launch Skype.

2. If Step 1 fails or you are NOT using WIN7 do:

Open an Internet Explorer browser, and go to msn.com, what happens?

If it fails, Please do the instructions below. Using your Windows Control Panel, please do:

Internet Options -> Advanced Tab Please click the "Reset" button.

Then, Go to the Connections Tab.

Make sure that the only checkbox checked is "Automatically detect settings", then click the "OK" button.

Close any open Internet Explorer browser windows, open a new IE browser window and try msn.com again. What happens? If it works, please stop/start Skype What happens?

3. If Step 2 does NOT solve the problem:

Please install the beta version using the instructions below:

You can install the Current beta release by doing this from the top of this page: