Country code for USA?

Welcome to the Skype community. To get started please read our short welcome post. Thanks!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
This topic has been archived.
To keep discussions in the Skype Community relevant we archive topics that haven't seen activity in the past 6 months. Read more about about archiving
Reply
Accepted Solution

Country code for USA?

[ Edited ]

ok i am trying to set an account up for my htc android evo 4g, when i am on the account page it asks to enter your phone number it tells me i have to enter my country code in what does this mean and where do i find my country code for USA

thanks for any help

jess

Claudius
Community Manager

images.message_type_solution.altAccepted Solution

The correct country calling code for the USA is +1.
More details here on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_American_Numbering_Plan

View solution in original post
jessann
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 25
Posts: 1
Registered: 30-08-2011
Message 1 of 11 (547,156 Views)

Re: country code

The country code for USA is 011
eddiejet
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 7
Posts: 2
Registered: 17-09-2011
Message 2 of 11 (547,027 Views)

Re: country code

why is it telling me that it is still wrong

chadainharrison
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 6
Posts: 1
Registered: 25-07-2012
Message 3 of 11 (540,373 Views)

Re: country code

im gonna try this hope it works for me
shell8312
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 4
Posts: 3
Registered: 01-12-2012
Message 4 of 11 (535,944 Views)

Re: country code

The correct country calling code for the USA is +1.
More details here on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_American_Numbering_Plan

Keep your Skype up to date
Did my reply answer your question? Accept it as a solution to help others, Thanks.
Claudius
Community Manager
Community Manager icon
Kudos: 13112
Posts: 7949
Registered: 22-06-2011
Message 5 of 11 (529,273 Views)

Re: country code

man i kept asking this question over and over and it would not give me the answer,,,but THANKS to YOU NOVEL ADVENTURER i have the country code for the USA, thanks again,,sincerely Shaft Prince
shaftprince
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 3
Posts: 1
Registered: 10-02-2013
Message 6 of 11 (515,968 Views)

Re: country code

Thank u that help me but now I can't figure out how to add ppl on my phone???

sydneymiller051
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 1
Posts: 1
Registered: 19-03-2013
Message 7 of 11 (487,698 Views)

Re: Country code for USA?

I put +1 and it worked fine
shawjones712
Novel Adventurer
Kudos: 4
Posts: 2
Registered: 04-04-2013
Message 8 of 11 (472,273 Views)

Re: country code

do i use011918 then my number

 

cookiemonste
Novel Tourist
Kudos: 2
Posts: 1
Registered: 20-04-2013
Message 9 of 11 (457,110 Views)

Re: country code

Hello,

No. With Skype you use only the code for the country you are calling + the area code and number.

For example to call to/within the United States the correct dial string is: +1 xxx xxx xxxx

SKYPE STAFF MODERATOR & BETA TESTER
TIME ZONE - US EASTERN - PHILADELPHIA PA USA - UTC MINUS 5 HOURS

I recommend that you always run the latest software version: Windows & Mac

If my advice helped to fix your issue please mark it as a solution to help others.
Please note that I generally don't respond to unsolicited Private Messages. Thank you.
NormanM
Staff Moderator
Staff Moderator icon
Kudos: 1429
Posts: 8201
Registered: 24-06-2011
Message 10 of 11 (457,102 Views)
Reply

© 2014 Skype and/or Microsoft. The Skype name, associated trade marks and logos and the "S" logo are trade marks of Skype or related entities. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy and Cookie policy.

No emergency calls with Skype
Skype is not a replacement for your telephone and can't be used for emergency calling